Intro to Poetry, Day 7: Flavour Part 2 (Guest Poet)

Found Poem by H. Julian
Source: Chickadee and Canadian Living Magazines

Notes: Today while I was working on my Found Poem, my eldest son took an interest and decided he’d like to give it a try too. I gave him a few pointers and he got to work. I asked him if they ever read or wrote poetry in school. He said no, the only poetry he had heard was in our house when I read it to him. This made me kind of sad. I think it’s important for young children to learn poetry. I know that teachers are overloaded with things they are expected to teach, but I really hope that the Arts are not sacrificed as a response to this pressure. In the meantime, I plan to have more poetry writing (and reading) sessions with my son this summer since we both enjoyed the experience.

If you’d like to contact me about this post or about anything else you’ve read,
please email me: judyamy74(at)gmail.com or tweet me @JudyAmy74.

Leave a Reply

