Intro to Poetry, Day 6: Screen

facebook

facebook (Photo credit: sitmonkeysupreme)

Facebook:
A place to share your life with
Friends,
Family,
Co-workers.

Many status updates seem to infer that:
Everything is super positively hunky-dory
ALL THE TIME!!!!
(regardless of actual truth)
I LOVE (insert heart or smiley here)
My family!
My friends!!
My co-workers!!

This one was different–
A status updating
Friends,
Family,
Co-workers.
A note with a final goodbye.
Comments made below
Couldn’t save him.

Facebook:
The  place he shared his death
With
His family,
His friends,
His colleagues.

We need more
Than likes and shares
More than
Emoji representing how we feel
(or how we present ourselves as feeling)
More than
Facebook.

We need
People to share our lives with.

Originally written: 11/28/2013; Edited: 07/21/2017

Notes: Today’s topic was “screen” and  the challenge was to try to use enjambment, something that is in almost all of my poems, so it wasn’t that difficult of a challenge for me. However, it was a crazy, busy day so today’s poem is actually a re-post of a poem. I wrote it a few years ago after learning that a kind, gentle friend of my partner’s had died by suicide after leaving a goodbye message on Facebook. I wrote the poem to try to work through some of what I was feeling. As I re-read it today, I feel many of the same feelings I felt four years ago. Writing poetry helps me process information, but the processing is ongoing.

If you’d like to contact me about this post or about anything else you’ve read,
please email me: judyamy74(at)gmail.com or tweet me @JudyAmy74.

Leave a Reply

