Intro to Poetry, Day 4: Journey

I loved you once.
You loved me once.
Or so we said.
But that didn’t keep us from
Being unfaithful to one another.

Why wasn’t love enough?
Was it that we didn’t love
Hard enough?
Long enough?
Or was it that we didn’t love at all?

Love—
A word we threw around without thought
Or care
Or understanding.
“I love you” we’d say.

“I love you” acted like
A marker in our relationship
We thought of it as a
Talisman,
A protective shield of sorts.

It didn’t work that way for us.
We loved.
Or so we thought.
We tried to fix what was broken.
Or so we thought.

What went wrong?
Did we not try
Hard enough?
Long enough?
Or were we too broken to be fixed?

I loved you once.
You loved me once.
“I love you” we said
As we went our separate ways
But did we really?

Whenever I think about love,
I think of you and wonder
If you think of me
When you think about love–
And the “I” and the “You” that
We once were
Together.

Notes: Today’s theme was “Journey” and the challenge was to include a simile. I think I did okay on this one.

If you’d like to contact me about this post or about anything else you’ve read,
please email me: judyamy74(at)gmail.com or tweet me @JudyAmy74.

Leave a Reply

