Intro to Poetry, Day 1: Water

Water

Under the surface
I can’t hear the roaring waves.
It’s calm and peaceful.
I close my eyes and wait.
The silence is lovely.

Notes: I have signed up for a 10 day WordPress “Intro to Poetry” class, which basically means that I get emailed a topic each day for the next ten days that I need to write a poem about, with a suggestion as to the type of poetry. Today’s topic was water and the challenge was to write a haiku. I felt like my haiku was unfinished, so I added two more lines to make it a tanka. I’m not thrilled with it, but I feel so creatively drained that I think anything is better than nothing at this point.

If you’d like to contact me about this post or about anything else you’ve read please email me: judyamy74(at)gmail.com or tweet me @JudyAmy74.

Leave a Reply

