Orange

What’s the deal with orange?

Nothing rhymes with it except sporange,
And unless you are a botanist who likes to use
a very rare alternative to the word
sporangium;
(a botanical term for a part of a fern or similar plant)
You’re left with nothing.

Nada.
Zip.
All you’ve got is a clever expression used by
Bands, cartoonists, and
Hipster clothing stores:
R(h)ymes with Orange

So  what (and who) is orange for?
Oddballs?
Try-hards?
Wannabes?
Cheapskates?
(Have you ever noticed the colour of a clearance price tag?)

Orange is the domain of the fake and the terrible:
Cheez Whiz,
Spray Tans,
Hazmat Suits,
and the Agent that bears its name.
Orange is for them.

Why orange?
I’ll never understand.

Jeanette Winterson knows what’s what:
Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit.

Oranges are not the only fruit.
And orange is not the only colour.


Notes: This is one piece in a collection of colour writings that is part of my Master’s Research Project. As I went through the colours of the rainbow initially, I was surprised at how resistant I was to orange and that I really disliked it.

Photo by Pixabay

Photo by Pixabay

One website about the meaning of colours said that orange was a polarizing colour and that people either love it or detest it. I don’t plan on getting into fistfights with people who like the colour, but you definitely won’t see me wearing an orange shirt anytime soon. What about you? Do you have any strong feelings toward orange or any other colour?

 

If you would like to contact me about this post or about anything else you’ve read please email me: judyamy74(at)gmail(dot)com or tweet me @JudyAmy74

 

 

2 thoughts on “Orange

  1. I love orange (I might also be an oddball and a cheapskate, but never a wannabe or a try-hard!)… Tiger Lily orange, Doritoes orange, campfire flame orange, sunset orange, creamsicle orange. The more I write the word “orange” the stranger I think it looks! Thank you for not planning any fistfights with me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

