Blue Monday

Bins carefully packaged and
Lined with forgotten holiday treasures are tucked away neatly
Under the stairs.
Everything is back to normal

(except that the)

Mailboxes are overflowing with bills;
Opening each one brings another moment of anxiety.
No one can seem to get ahead of the
December debt that
Accumulates over the Holiday Season
Year after year after year.

Notes: This poem is definitely unfinished, (I am not happy with the break between the stanzas) but I wanted to get it up before Blue Monday becomes a distant memory. Even if it’s not scientifically true that yesterday was the most depressing day of the year, it was still a good chance for me to challenge my post-Holiday blues by attempting to access my creativity and write an acrostic poem about the topic.

If you would like to contact me about this post or about anything else you’ve read please email me at: judyamy74@gmail.com or tweet me @JudyAmy74
I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

