Holiday Book List 2014: The Final Five Books

21. The Latke Who Couldn’t Stop Screaming–by Lemony Snicket, illustrations by Lisa Brown. This is a funny book explaining how Chanukah is different from Christmas, told from the perspective of a latke. I also like the fact that it’s tiny. This one is 6×6.5 inches.

22. The Wild Christmas Reindeer–written and illustrated by Jan Brett. All of Jan Brett’s books are a treat, both to read and to look at and this one is no exception. This one tells the story of Teeka, the girl who has been given the task of training Santa’s reindeer.

23. The Trees of the Dancing Goats–by Patricia Polacco. I have a good number of Holiday books by Patricia Polacco in my collection, but this one seemed like it was best suited to the ages of my children. Based on Polacco’s own childhood, she tells the story of how one year her Jewish family helped make Christmas special for their neighbours who were sick with scarlet fever, and the friendship between the families. Polacco’s illustrations are bright and cheerful and her lyrical prose makes this book a wonderful read. We all loved it.

24. Christmas in Exeter Street–written by Diana Hendry and illustrated by John Lawrence. What a delightful book this one is! I took a chance on this one and it was well worth it. On each page, new guests arrive (many unexpected) to stay at the house in Exeter Street on Christmas Eve. It’s delightful to see where each new guest has to sleep and whether or not Father Christmas will be able to find them.nightbeforexmas

25. The Night Before Christmas–by Clement C. Moore. What else did you expect? The perfect book for Christmas Eve. I’ve linked to one I think is fairly unique, with cut-paper illustrations by Niroot Puttapipat, but there are many lovely editions of this book.

And that’s a wrap folks! At least until next year, and hopefully 2015 will have me organized enough to post my book list before the holidays are over! Cheers!

If you’d like to contact me about this post or about anything else you’ve read please email me: judyamy74(at)gmail.com or tweet me @JudyAmy74.

2 thoughts on “Holiday Book List 2014: The Final Five Books

    • Thanks Bev! I found it enormously difficult to judge whether or not a book was good until I actually had it in my hands. And I did my best to research, but there weren’t a lot of good resources out there.

      Like

Leave a Reply

