stereoTYPING: Blogging Toward Acceptance and Understanding

Happy Tuesday!

This post is a series of questions for other bloggers. I am giving a presentation next week at a local university regarding my experience with blogging about gender issues and how writing can deepen understandings and begin conversations.

So, my questions to you are:

  1. Why did you start blogging? (as opposed to a different form of writing) Why do you continue?
  2. Does your blog have a particular focus? (parenting, poetry, etc.) Why or why not?
  3. Do you read other blogs? If so, are they related to the writing you do on your own blog?
  4. Do you actively encourage comments/discussion on your blog? Do you comment on other blogs?
  5. Any other comments about blogging?

Please take a moment to think about and answer these questions if you have the time. I would really appreciate it. You can either write your answers in the comment section or contact me via email or twitter.

 judyamy74(at)gmail(dot)com                      @JudyAmy74

5 thoughts on “stereoTYPING: Blogging Toward Acceptance and Understanding

  1. 1) I started blogging to hold myself accountable with my fitness goals.
    2) Fitness- because I feel I need a way to keep myself motivated and accountable.
    3) I read a ton of blogs! Most are fitness related. Some I read for fashion, crafting or lifestyle tips.
    4) Yes, I try to end each post with a question to encourage discussion. I am trying to comment on other blogs. I don’t comment as often as I probably should!
    5) Blogging is a challenge for me but I am growing and so is my blog!

    Like

  2. I started blogging over three years ago because I wok up in the middle of the night with a thought and I didn’t want to waste it. How I found Worpdress, and the skill to open a Blog is a mystery to me. I read a good number of Blogs, which are normally human interest driven, or writing, or about the details of someone’s life with which I’ve become engaged. I spend a lot of time commenting, and have a decent Blogroll. My only comment is the way the crowd in your Blogroom may grow bigger, but the people in it change over time, and people arrive and leave almost without comment

    Like

    • Thanks for answering Peter! It’s always interesting to me what other people get out of blogging. I have a couple of more questions though–what’s a Blogroll and a Blogroom? Does that refer to the number of followers? Even though I’ve been doing this for about a year and a half I’m still in the dark about how a lot of it works. 🙂

      Like

  3. I started blogging because I’m delving into the publishing world and I want to connect with other writers and get a handle on social media. I try and blog twice a week but it’s slowing down to one. I blog when I’m inspired, and this is happening less… My blogs end up coming out like articles ans are always about writing, reading or book elements…I comment on blogs that interest me, but I always comment back when people comment on my blogs 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

