Q is for Quiet

What I miss most
(About the good old days)
Is not the $400 shoes I wore
Or the fancy soaps
Or the late night impromptu
Tuesday night dinners
Or even watching movies
Late into the evening,
Sleeping in and then
Standing in line at Stella’s for brunch.
What I miss most is the
Quiet.

I know that some well-meaning
People
Will tell me how lucky I am
To hear the hustle bustle of
Life within my home.
I appreciate this;
I really do.
But some days I’d just like some
Quiet.

Notes: Lately I feel as though I’ve been overly reminiscent about my childless days. I’m not sure if this is because the twins seem to be at a really difficult stage right now, or if it is a signifier of something more. My kids always just seem to be so loud. All the time. The other day I wished for silence and got it–in the form of laryngitis. Not great when you have three noisy children. Note to self: Be careful what you wish for.

I’m including a link to one of my favourite songs about quiet–no, it’s not The Sound of Silence, although I do enjoy S&G quite a bit. I decided to revisit my youth, and the video for Depeche Mode’s great song references the themes and story lines in Antoine de St. Exupery’s Le Petit Prince. Anton Corbijn, the director stated that the “King represented a man with everything in the world, just looking for a quiet place to sit” (Wikipedia) Sometimes I feel like that man. And I suspect many of you do too. Here’s a link to Depeche Mode’s Enjoy The Silence.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

