L is for Love (What else?)

Nightingale Luscinia megarhynchos

Nightingale Luscinia megarhynchos (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m falling
I have fallen.
I fell.

And now here I am
For better or for worse
With you.

Sometimes the worse
has been the very worst,
But the better has been
Better than the very best

Beyond measure
Beyond reason
Beyond control

We’re still here.
In this deep pit
We fell into
Together.

(P. S. I’m still falling.)

 

Notes: L is for Love. What else could it be for, really? My other option was lethargy and I was too lazy to write about that. Here is my attempt at writing a love poem to my partner of (gasp) almost 14 years now. I didn’t want it to be too sappy or too mushy, but I wonder if that’s unavoidable in amateur love poems. I’m especially uncertain about the last line and wonder if it should be taken out.  Any advice or suggestions on the poem? Are you a writer of love poems? How do you write about something so emotional without it sounding, well, so emotional?

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “L is for Love (What else?)

  1. Just wanted to say, I haven’t had a chance to comment on many of the posts lately but I’m so enjoying your travel through the alphabet. And this is really lovely. Not mushy, but so reflective of the depth of your love and care.

    Like

Leave a Reply

