I is for Identity

Who am I? you ask
Mother? Teacher? Or other?
I really don’t know.

Scorpio Barbie

Scorpio Barbie (Photo credit: dog.happy.art)

Notes: I is for Identity. What does this mean? We often throw out questions when we first meet someone such as “What do you do?” It makes for the beginning of a conversation, but if you’re like me and don’t quite know how to answer that question, things get tricky. What then? I’m never sure if I should say that I am a teacher–after all, I’ve been away from the classroom for almost as many years as I’ve been in one. A student? I am currently working on completing a Master’s degree, but at my age it sounds weird to say student. A mother? I am definitely a mother, and while I love my children dearly I don’t think that’s the first answer I want to give out to people. There are so many layers in that question and yet we continue to use it over and over when we meet someone new. I guess it’s an easier identifier than asking someone their political allegiance or their astrological sign, although sometimes I think my Astrological Sign does give a fairly accurate representation of who I am as a person. I am fairly intense, secretive (I won’t tell you my political allegiance) and also extremely jealous, and at times I have been told I have incredible personal magnetism. In case you’re wondering, I’m a Scorpio. So, what’s your sign?

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

