100!

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

I am honoured that this tiny endeavour has now reached 100 people who are interested in what I might have to say. And lest you think I’m talking about my family–here’s a heads up–neither my mum nor my partner subscribe to my blog. Which means that this blog has surpassed what I imagined when I first began this journey. And I thank you, dear reader.

I don’t want to make light of this–first of all, I lied. It wasn’t a tiny endeavour–it’s been a great big leap for me to muster up my courage and share my writing. Years ago, during my first university degree, I had 3 professors from different disciplines tell me that I should keep writing and submit some of it to journals and publications. One (a published author in his own right) even offered to read and edit my work. Alas, I let those moments and opportunities slip away by telling myself that these people were just being kind and that I shouldn’t bother them.

Years went by and my writing took many different paths, but it was always private. It was only this past Spring that as part of an assignment for my third university degree (I love learning, what can I say?) that I decided to move beyond the private. A blog seemed like a safe place to start this move. And the journey has been eye opening–for instance, I still refuse to play the blogging game of “I like yours, so you like mine” that seems de rigueur amongst many bloggers. I also like that I have not pigeon-holed myself into a specific genre of writing. It is freeing to do and write what I want.

So again, from the very bottom of my heart, dear reader, I thank you. I encourage you to continue along this journey with me, and perhaps even comment once in a while if something strikes your fancy. I feel like I’m writing an Oscar acceptance speech so I’ll just end now with these now unforgettable words of Matthew McConaughey’s “All right! All right! All right!”¹

1. For those who don’t know, Matthew McConaughey originally spoke these words in 1993 in the movie Dazed and Confused. Here’s the link should you want to check it out: Dazed and Confused–IMDB

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “100!

Leave a Reply

