Power Struggle (Unfinished)

Wheel

Wheel (Photo credit: Pauline Mak)

 

The power I used to have
Is gone.
Fallen away
From years of indecision
Poor choices
And dis/misuse.

Stuck in the middle
I don’t even know
Which way I should turn

Power was easier
When it was just about me.
There are too many other things
(or are there?)
Sucking away at my
Energy
Commitment
Desire
I still want it, but do I have the strength to
fight for it?

Power takes time.
And while it seems I have
Nothing but
Time
It also seems as though
I have
No
Time
At
All.

Power is a struggle.
One I can only reclaim
Work towards
Fight for
If I know what I want.
(And I don’t)

And so I remain:
Frozen
In the middle,
While the wheel keeps
Turning.

Powerless.

Notes: I’ve kind of gotten out of the habit of writing notes explaining my poetry, but I want to make it clear that this poem is unfinished. It feels unfinished and I feel unsettled, but I need to release it. I have struggled with it for too long. Kind of like the subject matter. Any suggestions or comments would be appreciated.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

