Just Let Go/No Way Out

The small white pill
(Smooth and round)
Slides down my throat
Like a dream.

And like a dream
It blurs reality;
Softens the edges,
Removes the sharpness.

At first
It feels good
To release
(relinquish control)
and
Just
Let
Go.

Eagerly
(Greedily, hungrily)
I reach for the bottle
That takes the knives away
And transfers me to
The land of
Plastic spoons.

But plastic spoons are temporary
And I tire of this
Endless nothingness and
Emptiness
That this soft blurred world
Offers me.

But I can see
No
Way
Out.

Unsure of what to do,
I shake the pill into my hand
Swallow its smooth roundness
And continue in my dream-like state.

2 thoughts on “Just Let Go/No Way Out

Leave a Reply

