How to Win Friends and Influence People–Blogging Style (Part 3)

YIP Day 305 - Dale Carnegie

YIP Day 305 – Dale Carnegie (Photo credit: Auntie P)

So my tagging experiment failed miserably yesterday. No likes, no followers, no nothing. My self-esteem is shattered. I say this in jest of course, but my ego is a little bruised which is the crazy part of this whole blogging thing. That dynamic between writing for the pleasure of writing and wanting admirers. I need to continually remind myself that I am doing this for me.

Here are my final thoughts on attracting more readers. I titled these entries after Dale Carnegie’s 1936 bestselling self-help book, How to Win Friends and Influence People. I haven’t read this book, but I did check out a few of his pointers and I think that some of them can be applied to writing a blog. In super random order, since I picked and chose from several categories, here they are:

Give honest and sincere appreciation/Become genuinely interested in other people: When I give feedback on other blogs I mean it. No ulterior motives. I invite you to do the same.

Appeal to the nobler motives/Dramatize your ideas/Throw down a challenge: I feel like these concepts are good ones to keep it mind. I like the idea of “throwing down a challenge” as opposed to “writing something controversial” which I discussed in an earlier entry.

I think what appeals to me the most about Carnegie’s suggestions are the words–honest, sincere, genuine, noble. This is what I want my writing to be–and if I gain some followers along the way, so be it. I’m okay with that. More than okay. I’m happy with that.

For more information on Dale Carnegie’s book, How to Win Friends and Influence People, check out the following links:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/How_to_Win_Friends_and_Influence_People

http://www.amazon.com/How-Win-Friends-Influence-People/dp/1439167346/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1372607161&sr=8-1&keywords=how+to+win+friends+and+influence+people

Leave a Reply

