How to Win Friends and Influence People–Blogging Style (Part 2)

mappa_blog

mappa_blog (Photo credit: francescopozzi)

In my last blog entry I discussed my inner debate over whether I wanted more followers or whether I was happy with how things were going. I decided to investigate. I googled “How to increase your blog traffic” or something to that effect. Needless to say, there are LOTS of people out there who are willing to help expand my readership. I checked out a few and in random order here’s what I discovered–both about this new world of blogging and also about myself.

  1. Follow many other blogs (emphasis on many): Many blogs advocate that the best way to get traffic to your website is by following other blogs, commenting on several posts, engaging in dialogue with other bloggers and (politely) promoting your own blog. Here are my thoughts on that–good idea, but it sounds terribly time consuming. I am a mom to a pre-schooler and twin toddlers, so basically when I get a chance to be at the computer it’s to quickly check my email and possibly work on my blog. So to those of you who have politely asked me to visit your blog, I have done this, but at the moment I can’t commit to dialoguing just to improve my chances of followers. Perhaps in a couple of years this type of time commitment might be something I’d be interested in, but for now this suggestion just isn’t right for me. I want my comments and dialogue with others to be genuine, not forced for the sake of readership.
  2. Tweet/Facebook about your blog: Good idea except that I don’t tweet, and since I’m keeping my blog on the down-low for the moment (at least among my friends, family, and colleagues), I’m not ready to announce it’s presence on social media.
  3. Post often to keep your readers interested: This is the best idea that I’ve read yet, and I am doing my best to commit to the time required to accomplish this.
  4. Write about something controversial: This was the weirdest piece of advice I’ve read yet. What exactly constitutes controversial subject matter? I don’t think this is the answer for me since I’m not interested in forced controversy. If I write something that happens to be controversial, so be it, but it won’t be chosen intentionally to gain a greater readership.
  5. Use lots of tags for your post: I didn’t read this anywhere, I’ve just noticed it. Some people attach tags to their posts that have nothing to do with what the post is about. I guess the idea is that the more tags, the greater the chance that more people will see your blog. If that’s your thing, so be it. I just think it’s lame and often misleading.

So I guess what I’ve discovered both by reading other blogs and mulling things over is that I’m okay without having hundreds of followers. The best tip was time, and I will make the time for this blog because I find it enjoyable and valuable. However, I will put in the time writing poetry and other stuff for my blog rather than spending time networking to get more readers. I guess what I want is quality readers, not quantity. And if you’re one of those quality readers, who follow me or check in occasionally because you like me, you really like me, I thank you.

Just this once though, I am going to tag the shit out of this post (#5)  just to see how that works! (is saying shit controversial? (#4) Somehow I don’t think so, but I might get a phone call from my mother tonight.)

2 thoughts on “How to Win Friends and Influence People–Blogging Style (Part 2)

  1. Just stumbled on this and thank you for the advise! I as well have been researching the same thing. Like you said, I am doing this for my own pleasure. Not looking to see my name on any blogging leaderboard.

    However, I can see how important feedback can be to that process. What good is it to have something to say if nobody is there to listen. I can be the best salesperson in the world, but if I don’t have a customer what good is this?

    I look forward to reading more from you. In my first few weeks doing this I find I am learning more from reading other blogs than I do writing my own.

    Like

  2. I’m glad you found me, although I am not sure I am the best person to take advice from. My blog is pretty random and I’m still relatively new to this blogging world. Also, I mostly remain a blogging hermit, rarely venturing beyond my four walls. Best wishes on your endeavour!

    Like

Leave a Reply

