Twin Toddlers

Hellions all day long

Wreaking havoc everywhere

Angels when asleep.

–June 22, 2013

Notes: Well, I just handed in a 21 page paper on using the Creative Process in my classroom, so I’m feeling a bit drained. I’ve been working on it for a while, so my brain is in a less poetic place right now. Nonetheless, I’ve been wanting to get back to writing and even though I haven’t felt overly inspired lately–between my Creativity Drain and my assignments I haven’t seemed to have bounced back like I was hoping to do. Today, in between naps and snacks (not mine), I grabbed my notebook. I wanted to write another laundry haiku and mulled over some ideas. Then as A. pulled an entire sleeve of crackers off the counter, waving it around so that it was raining Stoned Wheat Thins in the kitchen, I was thinking about how much I love my children when they are sleeping. They look so perfect in their beds that everything else from the day seems insignificant–the spilled juice, the tantrums, the food sailing through the air at dinner. Someday I will reclaim my house and some sense of order, but that time is not now. Now is the time to appreciate that they are in their cribs, supposed to be asleep.  I can hear A. & T. giggling in their room. I’d like to go in to see, but I’m afraid the twin magic will stop.

2 thoughts on “Twin Toddlers

Leave a Reply

